Natural Light v Flash

I have long been an avid fan of natural light photography, I am sure I will always have a preference for it, but as I am now starting to take a few bookings for shoots, I really need a back up plan just in case. To that end I am now teaching myself how to use my speedlight to give a “natural look”

Looking up

The above shot was taken in low light using just the available light, I love the drama that shooting in the dark towards the light has created. Here I just used the SOOC shot and converted it to black and white in Lightroom.

In contrast the shot below I used a bounced flash to remove the shadows and soften the image, I think that it looks fairly natural, I converted to monotone to remove the colour of our sofa, but to me the tell-tale sign that a flash was used is in the catchlights, but I can start to see the benefits of using a flash.

Shattered

I would so love to know what you think as this is my first attempt using a speed-light for portraits  Also, if anyone has any tips for setting up or any good reference books to read on flash use for portrait photography, I would love to hear from you.

Come over and join me on my FACEBOOK page, I would LOVE to see you over there too 🙂

LIVE, LAUGH, LOVE – enjoying and recording the everyday moments of life.

3 thoughts on “Natural Light v Flash

  1. These are both lovely Karen! I haven’t experimented with flash very much, and only have the small external flash. It would definitely be valuable to know how to use the speedlight. Good luck with it. (Bryan Peterson has a book “Understanding Flash Photography”). I have several of his books.

  2. Beautiful portraits, Karen! I am also starting to explore flash photography and I found a really good blog focused on lighting subjects with flash.

    http://strobist.blogspot.com/

    In addition to Beverly’s suggestion, which I will also check out;) you might want to browse through the Strobist blog too.
    Happy shooting!

Leave a Reply

