Gingerbread fun

The fantastic gingerbread men

Today my post is a little different from my previous ones, this collage above was part of my Project Life 2012. The concept of Project Life itself was started by Beccy Higins and was designed as a way to simplify the documenting of every day life. If you do not know what it is, it is worth checking out. It is great for recording memories in an easy and fun way either digitally like me or in the traditional scrapbook form.

For many years I had been meaning to do a traditional scrapbook of my kids lives and to that end I have boxes and boxes (my husband with vouch for this!!!) of bits and pieces I hadkept, written, photos taken etc from the time I was pregnant with them both. So far I have managed one year of my daughters life in the traditional paper form, but time has always been an issue for me. “December Dailies” came to my attention when one of my friends (thank you so much Clare) mentioned it to me. I enjoyed doing this so much digitally that I started googling “Scrapbooking” which is when I came across Beccy and her account of Project Life. BINGO, I knew this was something I really wanted to have a go at as it looked so manageable.

Well. so far I have managed to stay up to date and have lots of pages made into a book for last year and I am well on my way to being ready to be make another at the end of this year and I am enjoying every minute of it too! Even now looking back over the last fifteen months at the pages brings the memories alive.

As a working mum I personally often feel that my kids miss out (I know deep down that they do not, but it does not change the way I feel!), so whenever I get the chance, I ensure that I have some one on one time with both of them, doing something that they will hopefully remember in the years to come! This day my son and I had a blast making these wonderfully tasty Gingerbread Men, so worth trying as they are yummy!

Gingerbread Men Recipe 

-makes 12 large Double Ginger gingerbread men

  • 140.0g unsalted butter
  • 100.0g dark muscovado sugar
  • 3.0 tbsp golden syrup
  • 350.0g plain flour
  • 1.0 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 2.0 tsp ground ginger and 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 2 balls stem ginger from a jar, chopped
  1. Heat oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6. Line 2 baking sheets with baking parchment. Melt butter, sugar and syrup in a pan. Mix flour, soda, spices and a pinch of salt in a bowl. Stir in the butter mix and chopped ginger to make a stiff-ish dough.
  2. Wait until cool enough to handle, then roll out dough to about 5mm thick. Stamp out gingerbread men, re-rolling and pressing the trimmings back together and rolling again. Lift onto baking sheets. Bake for 12 mins until golden. Cool 10 mins on the sheets, then lift onto cooling racks.
  3. To decorate, mix icing sugar with a few drops of water until thick and smooth. Halve then slice cherries thinly to make smiles, and cut ginger into small squares. Spoon icing into a food bag, snip off the tiniest bit from one corner, then squeeze eyes and buttons, and a tiny smile onto 1 man at a time. Stick on a cherry smile and ginger buttons. Repeat; leave to set. Will keep up to 1 week in an airtight tin.

Decorating

You can also use raisins, sultanas or Smarties to decorate, if you prefer. (for our ones above, we just used icing pens and silver balls!)

LIVE, LAUGH, LOVE – enjoying and recording the everyday moments of life.

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread fun

Leave a Reply

